Home Gallery Movies Family Pages What`s News Guestbook Calendar Contact Us

Welcome to the Heke Whanau website

Welcome to the Heke Whanau website

The Chiefs have overturned a gutsy Sharks side 37-29 in a try-fest at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton despite a first half come back from the South African side
Terry and Col

FULLTIME: Chiefs 37-29 Sharks 

The Chiefs do well to hang on for the win against a brave Sharks outfit who have been ravaged by injuries. 

It wasn't always pretty, and the Chiefs dropped off for periods of the game, but they will be happy to notch a bonus point victory that puts them back up into second spot on the New Zealand conference ladder. 

An unbelievable game of rugby with the Chiefs looking like world-beaters in the opening quarter before the Sharks came roaring back. 

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie will not be pleased with the way his side has dropped off after starting so well.

Uncharacteristic errors from Aaron Cruden, and five penalties conceded inside their own half have hurt the hosts, while the Sharks grew in confidence as the half went on.

ChopperThe Chiefs need to tighten up their man-on-man defence while up front the forwards need to do more to combat the Sharks driving mauls.

Chiefs: 1.Toby Smith, 2.Mahonri Schwalger, 3.Michael Kainga, 4.Craig Clarke (C), 5.Brodie Retallick, 6.Liam Messam , 7.Tanerau Latimer, 8.Nick Crosswell, 9.Augustine Pulu, 10.Aaron Cruden, 11.Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 12.Richard Kahui, 13.Tim Nanai-Williams, 14.Lelia Masaga, 15.Gareth Anscombe. 

Replacements :16.Rhys Marshall, 17.Ben Tameifuna, 18.Michael Fitzgerald, 19.Sam Cane, 20.Brendon Leonard, 21.Bundee Aki, 22.Charlie Ngatai.

Sharks: 15. Riaan Viljoen , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Francois Steyn , 12. Meyer Bosman , 11. Piet Lindeque , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Lubabalo Mtembu , 7. Jean Deysel (C) , 6. Derick Minnie , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Anton Bresler , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Craig Burden , 1. Wiehahn Herbst. 

Replacements , 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Danie Mienie , 18. Franco van der Merwe , 19. Keegan Daniel , 20. Marcell Coetzee , 21. Cobus Reinach , 22. S'bura Sithole.